20140818-202231.jpgDay 8 – Living Joy

Today’s quote is from Henri J.M. Nouwen. “Joy does not simply happen to us. We have to choose joy and keep choosing it every day.”

Today’s centering thought is we are here to enjoy.

Today’s Sanskrit mantra is Shree Ram, which means “I embody happiness and vitality.”

From today’s message:
It is natural to express our joys, to share our happiness with others. Watch how young children innocently display their happiness and delight. As adults we have learned to be more guarded with expressing our emotions, even our positive ones, and this has the effect of limiting the positive influence of our happiness in our lives. We need to give ourselves permission to be, to live and feel life as we are.”

The second week of Oprah and Deepak Chopra’s Expanding Your Happiness Meditation Experience is about living joy, inspired, peace, love, playfulness, hope, peace, and wholeness. The eight day focused on how to live with joy.

Oprah shared that joy “is the highest expression of Spirit. When you open up and allow your light to shine, you’re expressing the grandest and most powerful state of well-being imaginable.”

Deepak reinforced, “give yourself permission to experience your joy whenever you feel it. Many people feel uneasy showing too much feeling around others, preferring to be self-contained. They don’t want to attract undue attention to themselves. But you can develop a new perspective, seeing that when you express your joy, you are nurturing your personal reality and therefore reaching a higher state of well-being.”

As mentioned in past posts, I believe in reincarnation. I believe that it is a gift to be reincarnated, not only could we heal past karma with others and grow spiritually in the process, but it is also a gift that we are able to taste, explore, feel, and experience life.

I still sometimes feel self-conscious about expressing joy. I think I will work on pulling down the remaining walls I have to self-containing my joy, and see where that will take me.

Who knows… Maybe the other people around me will join in. 😊

Visit The Chopra Center to sign up for the free 21-day meditation experience.

(Image and course information are courtesy of The Chopra Center.)

Older posts regarding my meditation journey:
Day 1 – Feeling Joy
Day 2 – Feeling Inspired
Day 3 – Feeling Peace
Day 4 – Feeling Love
Day 5 – Feeling Playful
Day 6 – Feeling Hope
Day 7 – Feeling Complete